How do I delete a backup set?

  1. Home
  2. Knowledge Base
  3. Backup and Restore
  4. How do I delete a backup set?

Norton Security backup sets can be deleted if the saved files are not needed anymore, or if the space is limited. The options available are:

  • Delete backup set (Lets you remove the backup set)
  • Delete backup set and files (Lets you remove the backup set and the files that are available in the backup set)

 

Delete a backup set

  1. In the Norton main window, double-click Backup, and then click Backup Sets.
  2. On the Summary tab, in the Backup Set Name drop-down list, select the backup set that you want to delete.
  3. Under Things You Can Do, click Delete backup set.
  4. In the Delete Backup Set window, select Delete backup set option.
  5. In the confirmation dialog box, click Yes.

 

Delete backup set and files

  1. In the Norton main window, double-click Backup, and then click Backup Sets.
  2. On the Summary tab, in the Backup Set Name drop-down list, select the backup set that you want to delete.
  3. Under Things You Can Do, click Delete backup set.
  4. In the Delete Backup Set window, select Delete backup set and files option.The Manage Backup Set window shows the progress of the backed files that get deleted from your selected backup set.
  5. Click Yes to confirm.

 

 

Remarks:

  • You cannot delete a backup set if only one backup set is available. The way to resolve this is to create a new backup set, and then purge the one selected for deletion.
  • To delete a backup set from your online backup, you must set the Network Cost Awareness option in the Firewall Settings window to No Limit.

 

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

Comments are closed.